movies

Into the Wild(2007)

The sea’s only gifts are harsh blows, and occasionally the chance to feel strong. Now I don’t know much about the sea, but I do know that that’s the way it is here. And I also know how important it is in life not necessarily to be strong but to feel strong. To measure yourself at least once. To find yourself at least once in the most ancient of human conditions. Facing the blind death stone alone, with nothing to help you but your hands and your own head.

Now you could say that Christopher McCandless was screwed up in his head. And I might just agree with you. But what he sure did was give all of us a great story that makes us think about life and trivial pursuits we are constantly after. We only talk about how stupid we are to run after wealth, career, wants and needs and etc. The next instant we find ourselves going back to the routine.

Alexander Supertramp, like he wished to be called, wanted to experience life on the road, in the wild. When he talks about career, dismissing it as a twentieth century creation that he doesn’t want to be part of, you know exactly what he is talking about because you can relate to it and somehow you find the urge to agree. And then you look around yourself and to avoid the embarrassment, banish it as an irresponsible comment by an immature young man.

I had not discovered Kristen Stewart outside of the numerous polls on Sexiest Women Alive and Maxim Top 100s. Though she appears for roughly 15 minutes, it’s not just an appearance. A subtle performance played to perfection, and maybe the only reason is that she probably played herself. Now if only she gets meatier roles outside of crap like Twilight and Edward Cullen chic-vamp-lits. And what more, she gets to sing the best song(below) from a truly awesome soundtrack(Mostly songs written by Eddi Vedder exclusively for the movie – but not this one).

It could be perfectly argued that when Chris did face the blind death stone, his head did not exactly help him. But then these are speculations and the big picture is far from just a story of a screwball graduate. There is some takeaway for anyone that watches this story. You may not witness a paradigm shift in perspective and complete that Rubik’s cube. But you’ll surely be presented with some good moves.

He says this:

I will miss you too, but you are wrong if you think that the joy of life comes principally from the joy of human relationships. God’s place is all around us, it is in everything and in anything we can experience. People just need to change the way they look at things.

…and goes on to realize the following:

Happiness is only real, when shared.

Now you do the math.

14 thoughts on “Into the Wild(2007)

  1. everyone wants to life off nature. not everyone suceeds, and america is a harsh continent.

    Adi: Lol, it’s your tri state area and surroundings da. Not all of America is :p

    Like

  2. I haven’t seen the movie but I’ve heard the story from a colleague of mine. My comments then were that there’s a certain hierarchy out there that can’t be reversed. Fish can’t reject the ocean, only the ocean can reject the fish.

    Adi: Haha, that’s a good one, I’ll remember that!

    Like

  3. Frankly, Adi, a lot of this post went over my head and I’m not ‘max’-ing here :)

    But one thing is for sure, and it has rung true all my 26 years and all the years that I’ve hated and loved my parents for the same: Happiness is only real, when shared.

    I realize now, (especially after the moment that spurred my last post) that I only want a job, financial independence so I could give it all away – not charity, not social work, not donation. Just spend it on things that matter. Like buy that over-priced butter from the Farmer’s Market because its good for you and for someone else who’s taken the trouble to make it good for you. I’m not sure if you’re following me, but this comment seems more like a lesson to me. So, I shall leave it at that.

    Lately, your blog has been quite inspiring in little ways.

    Adi: Inspiring ah? This was just a movie review!

    Like

  4. I loved the little para in the beginning. Really nice.
    I still have to see this movie and after reading your post I really want to. I do remember reading the book out to my nieces and loving the story.

    Nice post :)

    Adi: Ty Ty!

    Like

  5. I agree with Nandini V, of late your blogs are inspiring.

    Nice video and awesome last para!

    I read that TOI article on Twestival. Cheers buddy and good job!!

    Adi: Thanks, Nirmal!

    Like

  6. My roommate really liked it and he thought about it for 3 days. I thought the movie was ok and I thought the guy had gone cuckoo.

    Humans have worked tirelessly to get to where we are. We cannot survive in the wild. The age span was 25 about 1000 years ago. Now I presume it is around 80.

    Adi: Dude, you’re alive!?

    Like

  7. well written, GW.

    Sometimes, life in pursuit of things seems hard, life in the wild looks an easy escape:)

    Adi: That’s a nice perspective! But I don’t think that’s what drove Chris to his decision. He was literally just starting out!

    Like

  8. this reminds me of that bear-man story. forgot the name of the guy. and also the Mennenite and Amish folk ive seen.
    nice post. Stewart is hot. (platonic obvs.)

    Ado: Lol @ platonic obvs :p

    Like

  9. If you have the time and the inclination, do read the book. (For me it had the huger impact than the movie, but that’s probably because i read it before i saw the movie). But the book is from the author’s perspective (as against the sister’s perspective as in the movie), and has a bunch of intriguing side stories comparable to Chris Mccandle’s quest.

    And yeah, the transition from belittling human relationships to accepting that happiness is best when shared, is a leap, and is relateable if you’d been a brash overconfident kid at 23!…

    Like

  10. Wow. I brushed your recommendation aside when you mentioned it to me sometime ago. :P But I’m putting it on download tonight. And also buying the book. Have you read it? Is it good?

    Like

Leave a Reply

