Myself

Jai Guru Deva

Words are flowing out like
endless rain into a paper cup
They slither while they pass
They slip away across the universe

It’s a sad sad life when all our happiness and sorrow is derived from others expectations of us. Or so we think. But we still live trapped inside an infinite space of monotony sucking us further away from our true capabilities. We convince ourselves to be happy with what we have and if we don’t succeed, we better try and make others think we are happy. And then comes the epiphany. Let it be an excuse, let it be a way to console ourselves. Let this be impulsive even if this is the only one that fights its way out of our psyche.

Images of broken light which
dance before me like a million eyes
That call me on and on across the universe

An endless number of thoughts cross our mind each day, wanting to be explored, begging to be experienced but seldom do we give in. We want the same things to happen everyday, we want the same happiness that others have, we want the same satisfaction that others seem to have been guaranteed. We don’t want the same tragedy to happen to us, we don’t want the same sadness to envelope us. We want to live someone’s life. Heck, we cannot even commit our own mistakes. We disagree to make our own mistakes and learn from the ones committed by others. For once let us be Cristina and not Vicky.

Sounds of laughter shades of life
are ringing through my open ears
inciting and inviting me

There is no definite path to go against the mold. That is in fact the best thing about it. It lets you define your own happiness, your own sorrows. When we were kids, we took things slowly. Random things happened but they did gradually. Some started speaking early, some started walking early, some were prodigies. But there was never a big leap across the fence where our ambitions and wants increased exponentially. Then why is it that we are expected to do great things as soon as we step into the real world. Why is it that the course from thereon has to follow the beaten path. Why can’t you take things slowly then too. When we were small, we didn’t think twice about breaking a toy. Why is it that now we have an excruciating fear of shaking things up?

Limitless undying love which
shines around me like a million suns
It calls me on and on across the universe

Ayn Rand and Sri Sri Ravi Shankar don’t teach life lessons as much as Randall Munroe does. A lesson for the ages.

20 thoughts on “Jai Guru Deva

  1. We expect too much from life and perhaps take it too seriously. Every small incident/thing in our /our children’s lives is life and death issue. We need to learn to go with the flow of life and pause to smell the roses on our way

    Adi: Yep, everything happens too fast and we don’t pause to notice what we are doing. Welcome!

    Like

  2. unless you exp this line by line to me, all I’m gonna say is
    F*** THAT SHIT!

    PS: you need help, listen to some AOL radio every morning..

    Jai Gurudev….

    Adi: I will not. You shared this item on Google Reader. So stop pretending and living in denial.

    Like

  3. For once I agree with max. Too heavy for a 24 year old normal kid. I recommend some classic girl on girl action to lighten your life/mood.

    Adi: Thanks ba!

    Like

  4. Very profound. You are half my age but twice my maturity…..make that 10 times. Beautifully written.

    On a completely unrelated note, my younger son once asked me why Sri Sri Ravi Shankar is not called Sri Sri Ravi Ravi Shankar Shankar.

    Adi: Haha, this became popular after he was given the Padmashri. He is now referred to as Padmashri Sri Sri Ravishankar!

    Like

  5. That was profound :-)

    It’s an unfair life and the lessons we learn of adulthood. As you said, everyone travels at different speeds, and we just shall continue that way.

    Breaking free keeps our mind young. I was told that at least.

    Adi: Haha, I know, and you tell me you have one foot on the grave! :p

    Like

  6. I am surprised to read post of this genre in your blog.
    A reflective write up!

    “We want the same things to happen everyday, we want the same happiness that others have, we want the same satisfaction that others seem to have been guaranteed. We don’t want the same tragedy to happen to us, we don’t want the same sadness to envelope us”

    I just had a feel each and every line of your reflection,i am sure many of the readers would be able to relate to themselves!Probably this is what we tell ourselves most of the times when things are nt going in our way!!!

    Finally, this blog post reminds me of your blog name “Confessions of Magnificent Mind”
    Jai Adi GuruDeva :)

    Adi: Thanks! But Jai Adi Gurudeva is konjam too much!!!

    Like

  7. A post like this justifies the magnificent title.

    P.S. : Randall Munroe is the Enlightened One. Jorge Cham comes in close second. Alan Moore contests for the third.

    Adi: Thankoo! Haha, I agree on the hierarchy!

    Like

  8. the first time i heard this song was when my father introed it to me when i was arnd 4th std. in all those albums that he gave me, this one is my total favorite. idha kettale oru inner peace effect kidaikum..

    Adi: It is indeed a soul stirring song!

    Like

  9. Hey – Lovely post. Make as many mistakes as you want da. As you have very rightly said, we should at least have the right to make our own mistakes. A point that I have been driving to many people over the years. Good luck, Christina!

    Rajendran

    Adi: Thanks! :D

    Like

  10. “It’s a sad sad life when all our happiness and sorrow is derived from others expectations of us.”

    What a deep post, right from the very first sentence. It almost wants me to take a step back and reflect on my own big picture.

    Good luck with your next life-steps. Everything happens for a reason, and everything always works out for the best!

    Adi: Thank You. And yes, everything happens for a reason and everything is for the good!

    Like

  11. Adi Padi, I really really REALLY liked this post! I needed to read something like this to get out of my current phase. I can’t say it has dragged me out already but it’s given a good enough push. :) The mistakes part reminded me of this Titan ad by Aamir Khan – “Doosron ki galtiyon se kya seekhna? Make your own mistakes, yaar!”
    Please, pretty please, can I print it out for on-and-off reading? Yes? Thank you. I’m going to let you keep that ManU jersey for churning out such rare brilliance. :P

    Adi: Thankoo thankoo. Finally MANU jersey remains mine forever! :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

