Tags

Quote Unquote

So, the long due Preeti‘s tag. I love quotes. Period.

Quotes are an inspiration for the uninspired! – Anil’s status message

It’s such a huge arrogance, to love someone, and there’s too much of it around. There’s to much love in the world. Sometimes I think thats what heaven is – a place where everybody’s happy because nobody loves anybody else, ever. – Shantaram

Fate always gives you two choices, the one you should take, and the one you do. – Shantaram

I dont know what i fear more,the power that crushes us, or our never ending capacity to endure it. – Shantaram

I take everything personally, That’s what being a person is all about. – Karla Saaranen, Shantaram

If fate does not make you laugh then you just don’t get the joke. – Shantaram

We have just lost cabin pressure.- Fight Club

Funny, how just when you think life can’t possibly get any worse it suddenly does.- Marvin in H2G2

Life’s bad enough as it is without wanting to invent any more of it. – Marvin in H2G2

My capacity for happiness, you could fit it into a matchbox without taking out the matches first. – Marvin in H2G2

Warning: If you are reading this then this warning is for you. Every word you read of this useless fine print is another second off your life. Don’t you have other things to do? Is your life so empty that you honestly can’t think of a better way to spend these moments? Or are you so impressed with authority that you give respect and credence to all that claim it? Do you read everything you’re supposed to read? Do you think every thing you’re supposed to think? Buy what you’re told to want? Get out of your apartment. Meet a member of the opposite sex. Stop the excessive shopping and masturbation. Quit your job. Start a fight. Prove you’re alive. If you don’t claim your humanity you will become a statistic. You have been warned. – Fight Club

Man, I see in fight club the strongest and smartest men who’ve ever lived. I see all this potential, and I see squandering. God damn it, an entire generation pumping gas, waiting tables; slaves with white collars. Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy shit we don’t need. We’re the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our Great War’s a spiritual war… our Great Depression is our lives. We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won’t. And we’re slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off.- Fight Club

It’s our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities. – Albus Dumbledore, Harry Potter

Who is John Galt? – Atlas Shrugged

Did you say the world is coming to an end? Shouldn’t we all lie on the floor or put paper bags over our heads? If you like! – Ford Prefect, H2G2

“It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really matter, full of darkness & danger they were. Sometimes you didn’t want to know the end because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was, when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines, it’ll shine out the clearer. Those are the stories that stayed with you. They meant something. Even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I now know, folks in those stories had lots of chances to turn back, but they didn’t. They kept going because they were holding onto something.”

“What are we holding onto, Sam?”

“There’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo. And it’s worth fighting for.” – The Lord of the Rings

These are not the best. Some are not even quotes, but passages and dialogs. I can go on but I’ll stop here. Take up the tag, if you have some interesting ones. Looks like the extended summer of blogging just got over and I may have to go back to posting once a month. But then, I surprise myself, so hold on!


24 thoughts on “Quote Unquote

  1. Marvin is awesome! But the Frodo-Sam exchange was the best, I loved that scene in the movie as well (I have not read the books… they put me to sleep).

    Adi: Marvin rocks!

    Like

  2. I love this…

    My capacity for happiness, you could fit it into a matchbox without taking out the matches first. – Marvin in H2G2

    Adi: Welcome here! Hehe, that’s typical Marvin!

    Like

  3. Brilliant! Some really nice quotes you’ve got! Shantaram is indeed enlightening, teaches us some bitter lessons on crude reality. I need to get my hands on H2G2 though.
    I love that Sam and Frodo convo. Inspiring! There are some very interesting lines from Gandalf and Aragon too.

    Adi: Shantaram is one of the best things I’ve read ever!

    Like

  4. nice ones! I used to like the one from Harry and Sally ‘ when you decide to spend the rest of your life with someone,you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible’!! quite mushy but cute!

    Adi: Lol, I would lie if I say I don’t like it

    Like

  5. oops..harry met sally!and just as i tried to post this comment i saw a msg ‘your trying to post comments too quickly.slow down’.
    Nice quote!

    Adi: Avolo obsessed with my blog ah?

    Like

  6. I thought I’ll take up the tag but figured I might as well spam your space.

    Some of my other favorites:

    “Innit a coincidence dat Jesus was born on Chris’mas day? ” – Da Ali G

    “The names James Bond….James Bond.” – Da Ali G

    “That’s a very sexist way to talk abou’ dees bitches! ” – Da Ali G

    Adi: Thanks da! Lol, Ali G is too good, no? You’ve seen this interview of Kobe, Shaq?

    Like

  7. I second arun, I make so many quotable quotes, and you dont remm one?

    quotes for me are only worth gtalk status msgs, nuthin else..

    cut the crap bout once in amonth posting, its all abt priorities. SO post everyweek unless u want me to whack you in the rear…

    Adi: Your quote? One of your mushy shayaris? You have a collection that I can use? :P

    Like

  8. You can use my shayaris, the ones on my page and the one on max’s page which was posted as a comment! :P :D thoooo……what marketing! *digging the earth to stick head in* Pliss to use the shayari saar!! :D

    Adi: Of course, sant aadmi hain aap!

    Like

  9. Reaallly nice…im not one to be really inspired inspired by quotes n all, but these kindaaa made me think :)

    Adi: Oh, made you think, eh? :P

    Like

  10. Calvin has some amazing Quotes .

    “I’m killing time while I wait for life to shower me with meaning and happiness ”

    :-)

    And my fav quote from Shantaram was :

    “Luck is what happens when fate gets tired of waiting ”

    Adi: Calvin has amazing ones! The one about intelligent life in outer space is my favorite.

    Like

  11. I like this one from Matrix

    Morpheus to Neo: Sooner or later you’re going to realize just as I did that there’s a difference between knowing the path and walking the path

    Lot of the dialogues in that movie that are good… but somehow this one keeps coming back to me.

    Adi: Yeah Matrix has good ones. The ones by Architect in Matrix Reloaded are also good.

    Like

  12. Really nice quotes..!

    one of my personal favourites- ‘All you need is Love’ (The Beatles).

    P.S: Job offer sounds juicy:P.

    Adi: All you need is love. If only it was that easy! Sounds juicy? Are you gonna drink it?

    Like

  13. Life is a bitch and then we die?

    Ha.

    If you’re into re-incarnation (read Hindu), you’re born over and over again and it’s a bitch over and over again.

    Adi: Reminds me of Songi’s site. And also someone saying you are widely quoted.

    Like

  14. kyon santon kaa mooh kala karte ho yaar, mujhe unse jod kar? main koi sant vant nahin hoon, sab se battar aadmi hoon. dekhte jaao! tumhara bhram door karne mein zyada waqt nahin lagega! Ek din aisa aaega jab tum khud aake mujhe gaaliyan doge! tum bas dekhte jaao! :D shaayri kaa istemaal zaroor karna, varna bhugtoge! yeh chetaavni samjho yaa kuchh aur! :P :D

    Like

Leave a Reply

