Music and Lyrics · Myself

Escape from Reality

More often than not, music defines your life. If not, it defines your mood, or at least a phase in your life. There are songs that you would feel are written for you. There are songs that you would feel are sung for you. And there are songs that you would think that suit your state of affairs in life.

Right now, I am clinging on to two songs that are very close to my heart. The lyrics of one of them is very close to what has been the experience since the fall semester started. The song is by the rock band The Wallflowers. I don’t think everyone would be able to relate but I, for some reason, consider it to be very apt. The first song lyrics goes like this:

Tomorrow is gonna make you cry
Its gonna make you kneeel,
Before it breaks you, from inside
Still pressing on, arm over arm
Still trying to…
Get those feet back on, to the ground
They are harvesting these, fields in autumn
We’re different now than when we started
I am, ready to wake up, Here in the exodus,
On the beautiful side of somewhere….
It somehow feels right in all respects, when I think about everything happening here. Its quite an amazing song. You can catch it here. There is more..
I am lighting matches, for the rescue
Some are candles, some are fuses
I am acting on my best behavior
Switching over, every breaker
We’re plowing through these,laws of nature
Disregarding, every acre
I am lying in my Sunday best
Hoping this is not a test
I am trying to come down,
See us both somehow,
On the beautiful side of somewhere..
The other song that is very helpful in times of stress is Tumse Hi from Jab We Met. I never paid any heed to the music of this movie but it so happened that someone else too had blogged about it.I gave it a try and to my surprise, it is quite addictive. It is sung by Mohit Chauhan of Dooba Dooba( Silk Route) fame. The song is very much composed for his voice and grows on you like a cotyledon. A fresh breath of air during depressing and Marvinisc times like these(semester end!). You can catch it here.

A fine appetite for my megalomaniac self. :)

3 thoughts on “Escape from Reality

  1. New ghost returning to the earth beneath the haze..
    New poets burning through the lines of every page…
    I’m am unpainted portrait
    I am staring at a new sunset
    Without any memories yet

    All things are new again
    Within and without
    Sooner or later the ending begins
    Just then it can be said that all things are new again..
    Within and without
    Sooner or later every season ends
    Then forever it can be said that all things are new again..

    I hope you experience all dis ^^ very soon :)
    :P

    Like

  2. :D…… I like Yeh ishq hai…..

    besides….Jab we met is awsomeeeeeeeeee

    my songs right now

    Love Today- Mika
    Sanctus, Canon in D- Vienna Boys Choir
    Yesterday- Beatles
    Hotel Keralafonia

    Like

Leave a Reply

