Bombay · life · Nostalgia · People

Missing Musings

Missing Musings

Aah.How much I wish to get back to 401 Uttara, X-17 Shastri Nagar,Andheri West Mumbai-400058.I am not talking about that house with marble flooring but the city it belongs to.

Every time I think about Bombay, only the happy moments float in front of my eyes.Not that there was never a dull moment but they are just memories.Memories, good or bad, invariably feel like heaven when its gotta do with Bombay.

I miss the smell of Bombay.The smell of Lokhandwala.The posh smell of Shastri Nagar.I miss the early morning basketball and cricket at the garden.The girl who used to look down upon us from the third floor of Marvel when we were playing;).The aunty who used to shout at us every time we broke her window pane.The cycling with all the little kids.I miss the late night badminton.The late night strolls in the back road.The long walk that I used to take home from Four Bungalows.The stroll to Hrushikesh for tuitions,meeting some interesting people,some people who played a part in shaping my life.

I miss the Cirlce bus stop.The bus no. 266 that took us to school.The long walk passing Guptaji’s,Bhavans and Hansraj leading to school.The beautiful sixteen and seventeen year olds discussing about everything from sex to Harry Potter to the latest movie running at Fame.The vada pav at Gutpajis,the hot frankies and fresh lime sodas.The rainy afternoons,the inundated roads,the umbrella flipping experience,the I-have-wind cheater-but-I -won’t-pull-up-the-cap mentality.The plight of catching a bus and reaching home amongst all this.Yet loving it.Holding the umbrella in one hand and a bag of hot samosas and melting ice creams in the other.Bliss.The Bombay monsoon.

I miss the long drive from Andheri to Marine Drive to spend a good day.Those days after buying our first car.The matinee show at Metro.The shopping at every god forsaken place.The tide swings in the sea face.The waves splashing during the rains.And to walk right beneath them.

I miss the Sev Puri from that guy down the road.The Shiv Sagar Pav Bhajji.Or for that matter the one at Juhu Beach.The roadside masala dosa near Andheri Station.The vada pav and sabhudana vada in Dadar.The twice a week visit to McDonald’s.The High Point home delivery guy who always comes without change.The icy cold golas.Especially kala katta.And coming home to curd rice and pickle after all this.

I miss those visits to Chembur and Ghatkopar.Those days of traveling in the ladies compartment with mom.The more than one hour journey changing two trains.The sweaty,pushing,nudging Bombay local trains.And then the practice of buying vegetables at 11:00 pm,finish cooking at 12:30 am and have dinner at 1:00 am.And then the quiet,expensive rickshaw journeys back home.

I miss Bombay.I miss that life.Can we do this all over again,please?

This post is inspired by this


87 thoughts on “Missing Musings

  1. Good post da…. Nice to remember those days at school…. You forgot to add abt the double decker rides back home and figting to get the front seat [:)]

    Like

  2. Did u have to mention all the food?? made me hungry!! :( ANd i had absolutely no idea u spent a lot of time shopping.. or was it doing something else?!! ;)

    Like

  3. hey dude..u refreshed my old memories da…was a good post and also very much true..UTtara X-17 was truly a sensational place to be..but now u must take a look into lokhand wala da..u wont believe ur eyes as it has completely been changed!!!the multiplexes n shoppin malls..they r all over the road…bombay,especially lokhandwala s not the same….but still am nostalgic to go back to that times!!

    Like

  4. actually, that’s brilliant. Thank you. I’m going to pass that on to a couple of people.

    Like

  5. actually, that’s brilliant. Thank you. I’m going to pass that on to a couple of people.

    Like

  6. Thanks to author.

    Like

  7. actually, that’s brilliant. Thank you. I’m going to pass that on to a couple of people.

    Like

  8. Calvin, we will not have an anatomically correct snowman!

    Like

  9. Beam me aboard, Scotty….. Sure. Will a 2×10 do?

    Like

  10. Lottery: A tax on people who are bad at math.

    Like

  11. Give me ambiguity or give me something else.

    Like

  12. A flashlight is a case for holding dead batteries.

    Like

  13. Beam me aboard, Scotty….. Sure. Will a 2×10 do?

    Like

  14. Build a watch in 179 easy steps – by C. Forsberg.

    Like

  15. Ever notice how fast Windows runs? Neither did I.

    Like

  16. Please write anything else!

    Like

  17. Suicidal twin kills sister by mistake!

    Like

  18. Clap on! , Clap off! clap@#&$NO CARRIER

    Like

  19. What is a free gift ? Aren’t all gifts free?

    Like

  20. The gene pool could use a little chlorine.

    Like

  21. When there’s a will, I want to be in it.

    Like

  22. I’m not a complete idiot, some parts are missing!

    Like

  23. 640K ought to be enough for anybody. – Bill Gates 81

    Like

  24. Save the whales, collect the whole set

    Like

  25. actually, that’s brilliant. Thank you. I’m going to pass that on to a couple of people.

    Like

  26. The gene pool could use a little chlorine.

    Like

  27. Oops. My brain just hit a bad sector.

    Like

  28. What is a free gift ? Aren’t all gifts free?

    Like

  29. What is a free gift ? Aren’t all gifts free?

    Like

  30. Ever notice how fast Windows runs? Neither did I.

    Like

  31. If ignorance is bliss, you must be orgasmic.

    Like

  32. Build a watch in 179 easy steps – by C. Forsberg.

    Like

  33. Lottery: A tax on people who are bad at math.

    Like

  34. Give me ambiguity or give me something else.

    Like

  35. Save the whales, collect the whole set

    Like

  36. Friends help you move. Real friends help you move bodies

    Like

  37. If ignorance is bliss, you must be orgasmic.

    Like

  38. Oops. My brain just hit a bad sector.

    Like

  39. Build a watch in 179 easy steps – by C. Forsberg.

    Like

  40. Oops. My brain just hit a bad sector.

    Like

  41. What is a free gift ? Aren’t all gifts free?

    Like

  42. If ignorance is bliss, you must be orgasmic.

    Like

  43. Lottery: A tax on people who are bad at math.

    Like

  44. Lottery: A tax on people who are bad at math.

    Like

  45. Give me ambiguity or give me something else.

    Like

  46. Ever notice how fast Windows runs? Neither did I.

    Like

  47. Lottery: A tax on people who are bad at math.

    Like

  48. Calvin, we will not have an anatomically correct snowman!

    Like

  49. Calvin, we will not have an anatomically correct snowman!

    Like

  50. Energizer Bunny Arrested! Charged with battery.

    Like

Comments are closed.